Skip to content
July 20, 2012 / playforth

My Nexus 7 – part two

12.30pm

It’s not quite fully charged yet, but I just set up my Nexus 7 (connecting to my home wifi and my Google account) and it was even easier than I thought it would be. Since I have an Android phone already the interface is familiar, and the keyboard is a decent size (must try installing Swype though). The display is crystal clear too. And I now have £15 to spend in the Play Store!

12.55pm

OK Google have put a free Jeffrey Archer book on there. Going off it a bit…

1.00pm

Nevertheless, I am opening it in order to try out the Books app. Ooh it’s really nice. Very clear text (Arial font?!) and hardly any glare. It does that page-turny effect thing (and a weird tilty thing to view different angles), and the table of contents is hyperlinked. I’ve not really been keen on e-readers before (though I do have the Kindle app on my phone for reading matter emergencies) but I’ll give it a go. Not with Jeffrey Archer though.

1.05pm

Exploring the Play Store now. The touchscreen and the navigation is intuitive and great by the way. Ooh I could get Where’s My Water (nb I will NOT get this, because if my daughter gets wind of it I will never see the Nexus 7 again and that would be terribly sad). Installing Facebook, Hootsuite and the other usual suspects first… I have no real idea of how much 8gb is, in terms of how many films, or books, or apps. Guess I’ll just download things and see how we go…

1.30pm

The touchscreen/drag method of unlocking this thing feels kind of cool and futuristic, I have to say. I’ll probably have to find out how to turn off the sound effects though.

1.35pm

That’s probably all there is to say without straying out of first impressions – perhaps I’ll post another update in a few days when the novelty has slightly worn off and the usability aspects have become clearer. First impressions definitely good though!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Robin Houghton (@RobinHoughton) / Jul 23 2012 11:33 am

    I’m interested to hear how you get on, Rachel. I’d like a tab but desperate to avoid getting sucked back by the Apple tractor beam.

Leave a Reply

