Skip to content
December 19, 2012 / playforth

A time to rejoice in the good that we see*

Well it’s been quite a year for me and my little repository.

In February I took over our digitisation project and since then we’ve signed up six new partner institutes and met our target of 1500 full-text documents in the Digital Library – three months ahead of schedule.

In October we launched the other ‘wing’ of DSpace, our own institutional repository. We were expecting to do a lot of outreach and hand-holding and move gradually towards self-deposit, and yes we still have a long way to go to achieve systematic usage across the institute, BUT we have also had spontaneous self-deposit from several academics and their administrators, and plenty of interest from almost every research team.

I personally feel as though I’ve come a long way from the awkward cataloguer who couldn’t speak in meetings without blushing and was plagued on a daily basis by impostor syndrome. I’ve made decisions, presented at meetings, delivered training, written policies, done some guest blogging, presented at my first conference and had an article published.

And it seems fitting to end the year by adding that article, in which I presume to pass on the wisdom gleaned during the transition to my new role, to the repository: Trigger’s cataloguer: professional development by default.

 

* yes I did, I just quoted Cliff Richard in a post title. What of it?

Leave a Reply

